• SWCA-Logo.png
  • History


  • Since 1947, we have championed a thriving construction industry in Southwest Washington. 

    In 1947, Clark County experienced one of its first economic booms and construction was at the heart of it. To meet the needs of local contractors, four men: CJ Hearns (First President of the SWCA), Clint John (CE John Company), Al Angelo (The Al Angelo Company), and Larry O’ Collins (Larry O’ Collins Incorporated) began to lay the foundation for the Southwest Washington Contractors Association.

    The Founders recognized that Clark County was often forgotten between the larger cities of Seattle and Portland. In creating the SWCA, they wanted to create a fair process for accessing and bidding on plans, and thus created a centralized brick-and-mortar Plan Center. 

    After development of the SWCA Plan Center, the organization began to seek more resources to further success of the construction industry. Today, the SWCA offers benefits that reduce business owners bottom-line: 401(k), L&I Retrospective Rating Program rebates, Health Insurance, and Life & Disability Insurance.     


    Photography courtesy of Port of Vancouver USA.

  • Past Presidents

    Thank you to all the leaders who have served this Association for 70 years! 

    2016 Bryce Sinner Stellar J Corporation
    2015  Tracey Malone Halbert Construction Services
    2014 Joe Currie JWC Construction, LLC
    2013 Ron King 3 Kings Environmental, Inc.
    2012 Dan Goff DK Contracting, LLC
    2011 Amy Davis West Coast Bank
    2010 Shannon Barnett J.L. Storedahl & Sons
    2009 Trent Rehfeldt Rehfeldt Construction
    2008 Mark Jackson Schlecht Construction, Inc.
    2007 Mark Jackson Schlecht Construction, Inc.
    2006 Keith Knight Cherry City Electric
    2005 Keith Knight Cherry City Electric
    2004 Curt Welch Duggan, Schlotfeldt & Welch
    2003 Tom Collins Larry O. Collins, Inc.
    2002 Tom Collins Larry O. Collins, Inc.
    2001 Scot Walstra NW Natural
    2000 Scot Walstra NW Natural
    1999 Jeff Stevens The Concrete Shop
    1998 Lance Barrett Barrett & Company CPA's
    1997 Bryan Halbert Schlecht Construction, Inc.
    1996 Truman Driver Clark County Heating, Inc.
    1995 Bruce Overbay Bruce Overbay Excavating
    1994 Dave Adams D&L Glass Co., Inc.
    1993 Bruce Overbay Bruce Overbay Excavating
    1992 Cal Grimmer NW Natural
    1991 Jim Schmid George Schmid & Sons, Inc.
    1990 Stan Sorenson Sorenson Construction, Inc.
    1989 Paul Corso NW Natural
    1988 Duane Altman Studer's Floor Covering
    1987 Gordon Aubert James E. John Construction
    1986 Glenn Osborn Rap-I-Form
    1985 Bob Josephson Columbia Roofing
    1984 Roy Heikkala Heikkala Construction
    1983 Mike Allen Clark County PUD
    1982 Lee Liston Perma Curb
    1981 Wray Dusenberry Dusenberry Construction
    1980 Jerry Schmaltz Con-Form Construction Co.
    1979 Wayne Heikkala Heikkala Construction
    1978 Byron Miller Larry O. Collins, Inc.
    1977 Jim Kosterman Harlen's Drywall
    1976 Mike Kimberling NW Natural
    1975 Thomas H. Temple Temple Plumbing
    1974  Thomas H. Temple Temple Plumbing
    1973 Dick Schwary Schwary Construction
    1972 E.J. "Bud" Brabeck N/A
    1970 Larry Pruitt Pruitt Construction
    1969 Mel Hochhalter E&H Heating
    1968 Harold Johnson Johnson Construction
    1967 Cecil Poff Poff Construction
    1966 Graydon Downing Vancouver Roofing & Sheet Metal
    1965 Stan Hudlicky N/A
    1964 Graydon Downing  Vancouver Roofing & Sheet Metal
    1963 Ted Angelo Angelo Construction
    1962 Merle Burgess N/A
    1961 Gen H. Hicks Hicks Plumbing
    1960 Robert L. Taylor N/A
    1959 A. Richard Moll Moll Construction
    1958 Gene Rushford N/A
    1957 L.E. Raley Raley Construction
    1956 Jack Fullerton Larry O. Collins, Inc.
    1955 Grant Major N/A
    1949 Larry O. Collins Larry O. Collins, Inc.
    1948 A.R. Nieman N/A
    1947 C.J. Hearns (Cecil) N/A